The Battle…

403183_213402758747457_100002332029851_443071_387781291_n

It’s been almost 3 years since my last post.

The picture above captures the reality of the spiritual and personal battle that wreaked havoc on my heart and soul.  The enemy tried to silence my voice.  He whispered and spewed out lies that made me back into a corner and retreat into hiding. I’m sure that many can relate to the everyday warfare we are challenged with as believers.  But, I take comfort and courage in the words of Paul, as he motivates Timothy to fight the good fight of faith:

“But you, Timothy, man of God: Run for your life from all this. Pursue a righteous life—a life of wonder, faith, love, steadiness, courtesy. Run hard and fast in the faith. Seize the eternal life, the life you were called to, the life you so fervently embraced in the presence of so many witnesses.”- 1 Timothy 6:12 (MSG)

Little did I realize that 2016 was going to test the boundaries of my allegiance. In a desperate attempt to find solace, I immersed myself in self-destructive behaviors that lead to further damage.  As time passed, I found myself in a desolate place.  It left me homeless, jobless and questioning God as to my very existence. I was so deep in oppression, that I couldn’t see a way out of my current situation.  This was my breaking point.  As a result, I made the decision to surrender to God knowing that I couldn’t walk anymore without Him.  I learned that it was OK to ask Him for the very things I needed and I didn’t have to carry the heavy load on my own (1 Peter 5:7).

I began to search the scriptures for guidance until I happened to come across the tale of Job.  He was an upright man before God, and then suddenly, he lost it all.  As I study his story, I sensed his pain.  The words jumped out of the page and spilled over into my own cries.  He pleaded his case to God without ever blaming his creator.  How remarkable!

Why? It’s the question that you and I ask when facing a difficult trial. The answer is found in the word of God:

“For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, [a] against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.” – Ephesians 6:12 (NKJV)

There is an enemy out there who hates you (John 10:10).  He will stop at nothing to keep you from fulfilling the plans and purposes of God for your life.  He will try to silence, separate, and distract you.  He wants to keep you in a cease-fire hold. That’s how the adversary works against the children of God. The devil knows that once you align with the Commander-in-Chief, the God of angel’s armies, and gear up for battle, IT’S ON! He has to flee in the mighty name of Jesus! Always know that there is one who is mightier, who is our refuge and line of defense in times of trouble:

“God is our refuge and strength [mighty and impenetrable],
A very present and well-proved help in trouble.” – Psalm 46:1 (AMP)

My fellow comrades in arms, the battle continues and know that it is real.  I now possess a strength and peace in God that not even the devil himself can take away from me.  The Father equips us with not only spiritual fatigues (Ephesians 6:10), but with His word.  It serves as a reminder that He has us in the palm of his hands (Isaiah 49:16).  In short, the Lord is doing great things in my life as we speak (that calls for another story). A new hope and faith springs forth from the depths of my soul, and I smile.  I am standing firm on the word of God, with my battle-armor in place.

Only this time, the devil is on the run.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “The Battle…

  1. I can totally relate to what you have written. The battle is hard and tough but the great thing to see is how God takes us through it when we let Him. There were times i thought i was done for but God in His faithfulness delivered me. I am glad you have new hope in Him and you letting Him fight for you. All the best this year.
    Bless you

    Rolain

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for your words. We can all relate in some way to the ensuing battle we need to gear up for everyday. Take heart and continue to trust in Him, He is your constant refuge in times of trouble.

      Praying for all the best for you as well! 2017 is going to be a phenomenal year for all!

      God Bless,
      Missy

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reading of your struggle springs tears to my eyes, Melissa. The devil tries so hard to silence our voice, doesn’t he? The more we long to be closer to Jesus, the more he will fight to push us away. But he will never gain the final victory, right? I’m so glad God loosed you! I pray that this year will be a time of deepening your relationship with Jesus. May God strengthen your voice to speak out for Him!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amen, it is. That’s why we need to fully clothe ourselves in the spiritual fatigues that our Father has provided us with. The moment we realize that it’s a spiritual battle is the moment we realize that we have the victory in Christ Jesus.

      And yes, it is! 190%!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Blessings,
      ~Melissa

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

