Only Believe

Believe.  It’s hard to imagine that one little word can hold such weight and power in your hands.  But, what do you do when you find yourself in a position in which you can’t believe for yourself?

Earlier today, I was sitting in my parked car at the local supermarket.  The worship music was blaring in the background, and I began to give thanks to God for what he was doing in the lives of my loved ones.  First, I thanked him for the new job opportunity that He recently blessed my younger brother with.  Secondly,  I thanked Him for my other brother’s new-found relationship when all of a sudden, I heard God speak so clear to me.  “Why can’t you believe that I can do the same for you just as I did for them?” *BOOM* That’s right, I just got served.

cf28858a4c2c511dba8bcd04980cff5a“I assure you and most solemnly say to you, if you have faith [personal trust and confidence in Me] and do not doubt or allow yourself to be drawn in two directions, you will not only do what was done to the fig tree, but even if you say to this mountain, ‘Be taken up and thrown into the sea,’ it will happen [if God wills it]. 22 And whatever you ask for in prayer, believing, you will receive.” whatever you ask for in prayer, believing, you will receive.”Matthew 21:21-22 (Amp)

Later, I turned my face towards the heavens as the tears were rolling down my rosy red cheeks.  It was a defining moment, and I humbled myself.  I asked God to forgive me for my unbelief.  It never dawned on me that deep down inside, there was a little monster called “doubt” looming in my brain.  How can that be? Me, of all people? Why would I ever doubt God? To be quite honest, it took me aback.  After all, I know His word and His promises for my life.  I have made it a priority to declare them each and every single morning.  Apparently, I was missing the mark.  It was going to take more than a few morning declarations to understand what He was trying to tell me.

A few weeks ago, our senior Pastor challenged us to “Only Believe,” which ibased from the book of Matthew, verses 21 and 22. And so, with great enthusiasm, I joined my fellow brethren, as we shouted out praises to Jesus, standing and believing for the very things that we pray and hope for.  Over the next few weeks, members have shared their miracle stories of how God met their needs.  I sat there, listening intently to every testimony, hanging on every single word because I want it so badly for myself.

One would think that the concept of God being able to do the impossible in any situation would sink into our brain of reasoning.  But, therein lies a problem.  We limit God.  Our limitation is what hinders the hand of God from moving miraculously in our lives.  Our Father knows our very needs and desires even before we speak one word.  But, He is challenging us to go a step further.  God is calling us to step out in faith and BELIEVE for B-I-G-G-E-R things! God loves us all the same, what he can do for others, he can surely do for you and I if we only believe.

The apostle Paul wrote in Philippians, “And my God will liberally supply (fill until full) your every need according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:19 Amp).  The scripture doesn’t say some of our needs, but every need.  How amazing that God doesn’t limit us, He’s not a genie that will only grant us three wishes

tumblr_ofug6yaxry1s91yx0o1_1280

He wants us all, not just me, to believe that He will grant us the desires of our hearts.  He wants to free us, heal us, provide for us, restore us, rebuild us, strengthen us, uphold us, protect us and so much more.  According to biblegateway.com, there are more than 5,000 promises that God has for us! What are your heart’s desires for 2017? If you feel in your heart to share, I would love to hear all about it and partner with you in believing for the impossible.

There is nothing too big nor too small that our God cannot accomplish!

 

shareable2-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

