Just Be Still

1.1252780095.amish-farmland

Hello All,

While I should be basking in the beauty of the Amish country with my little family in the quiet town of Lancaster, PA, I felt compelled to share a few words with anyone who would lend an ear to listen.

We live such busy lives, and we are always on the GO, GO, GO! My life is full of projects to complete, academia, family time, etc., etc.  As I’m driving through the countryside, I lean back in the driver’s seat just a little and take in a long deep breath.  To the right of me, my son is looking outside, trying to capture pictures of the cows and horses that seem to zip right by us.  Behind me, my daughter sits in her car seat fidgeting around as she squeals with delight saying, “Momma look at the cows!”

Suddenly, it hits me.  My soul becomes overwhelmed with peace, joy and gratitude.  These are the moments that I want to treasure.  These are the moments that I don’t want to let go.  I feel myself getting emotional as my eyes become wet as the tears start to form.  I think to myself, “Melissa, just be still.”  Life is too short, and I want to hold my children in my small arms as I bestow upon them millions of kisses.  I want to hug them until they turn purple in the face.  I’m in a state of euphoria, and it’s a high that I don’t want to come down from!

So, I will get back to what is really important right now because the writing can wait.  So, excuse me as I jump on our plush, cozy bed and watch endless episodes of Spongebob Squarepants!

2 thoughts on “Just Be Still

Leave a Reply

